Eben Enasco Reporting

The Court of Appeal sitting in Osun State on Friday affirmed Governor Ademola Adeleke as the winner of the Osun governorship election.

It was gathered that the Appeal court also awarded to the tune of N500,00 as a fine against Gboyega Oyetola and the All Progressives Congress.

Recall that the Standard bearer of the All Progress Congress, APC, Oyetola was declared the winner of the Osun Gubernatorial Election by the Election Petition Tribunal after challenging the victory of Governor Ademola Adeleke.

Governor Ademola Adeleke-led administration in Osun State came to a hurting halt on Friday as the Osun Election Petitions Tribunal sacked him from office after staying in office for a mere 62 days

While annulling the July 16 Osun governorship poll results, the tribunal held that the Independent National Electoral Commission did not comply with the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as the Electoral Act as amended.

He, however, reclaimed his mandate as the legitimate Governor of the state after the decision reached by the appeal Court.

It is yet to be known if the defeated former governor Gboyega Oyetola and his party, the All Progressives Congress, APC, will approach a higher Court of Justice to seek redress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *